Phipps Files

Live. Laugh. Love. Learn

Hello World September 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — sjphipps @ 4:49 PM
Tags:

This is my first blog! I tried last year to create a classroom blog for my students and their parents, but I didn’t allow for comments. Therefore, it really wasn’t a true blog, more so a page where all my daily emails could be found. So, this will truly be my first blogging experience and I am a little nervous about the fact that it is open to the public as well as their opinions and criticisms!

The reason for this blog is really to reflect upon education as a teacher and a learner, and more specifically, to reflect upon the use of technology in education. Hopefully, I can also apply this reflection to the education of my own two sons.

I am very excited to continue growing and learning and in doing so, hopefully bettering the education of my students, my staff, and my children. Who knows? Maybe I will learn a think or two along the way? Any ideas of where to start?

 

2 Responses to “Hello World”

  1. As you see already, you received a great, supportive comment from Angela. This is the type of thing you will see more often, especially once you form a stronger PLN (as Angela explains). This will be something we explore in depth in coming weeks!

  2. byrnesa Says:

    Don’t be nervous! That’s a good place to start 🙂

    My second suggestion is to continue to use Twitter to form a PLN. (Twitter is how I found your blog). You will learn so much from your PLN and as you tweet out your blog posts and others read your blog, they will learn from you.

    My final suggestion is to have fun on your journey. It will be full of obstacles and at times you will be frustrated, however, for me, it was one of the most rewarding journeys in my pursuit of a Masters degree. Your excitement is evident in this post and leads me to believe that your journey will be rewarding for you as well!


Leave a Reply

